The (Prince) and Artist of Customer Experiences

Back in 1999 I attended a Prince (artist formerly known as a Symbol) concert at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas.

Oh, and if you’re wondering why I didn’t use Prince’s actual picture in association with this blog – well, there is just simply no need of egging on a lawsuit with the King (or Prince in this case) of taking on major record labels and winning.

That said, I attended his concert at a time when he wasn’t signed to a major record label and was only releasing his music via his website. As such, I expected the concert to be filled with songs I had never heard and wasn’t really that excited about the show.

To my surprise, even though he had albums of newer material I had never heard, Prince proceeded to play his classics – When Doves Cry, 1999 (in 1999), Let’s Go Crazy, Purple Rain, Kiss, Cream, and so on.

The result? I ended up walking out of the show a bigger fan than when I went in – didn’t even realize until that show how great a guitarist he really is.

Why did I walk out a bigger fan (and end up purchasing several of his CD’s)? Because, like all of those who serve with excellence, Prince did something that made this show a true customer experience (and not just a concert).

He made it about his customers (us) instead of himself by playing the songs we knew and wanted to hear and not just songs he may have wanted to share with us.

Wouldn’t it be great if all service providers truly took the time to make it about their customers rather than themselves?

And that is why Prince is THE PRINCE of Customer Experiences in my eyes.

Onward and upward
cpoirier
http://www.gimmiemyketchup.com

2 comments

  1. Cindy · December 18, 2010

    That was a really great concert! And I agree with you, he wass wayyyyy more of an entertainer than I had realized, he put on a show for the people, it was all about us!

    • gimmemyketchup · January 7, 2011

      Funny thing Cindy is that it was you that convinced me to go to the concert in the first place, and otherwise I wouldn’t have had that story to share, so kudos to you. Of note, I’ve seen prob. a hundred concerts / shows since (The Who, Roger Waters, Poison, Ozzy, Kiss, The Hip, Joel Plaskett, and on and on) and I would still put Prince in the top 5 so there is something to be said about Making It About Your Audience (aka. Customer)

Leave a Reply

