TOO BLESSED….

I was in Cape Breton over the Holidays (don’t even get me started on the drive back) and I saw the image above (spray painted of course) on a spot near an unused Cape Breton bridge.

When it comes to Customer Service, one of the reasons I feel that things have gone downhill in recent years is because people for the most part have been the opposite…..

They have been…..“Too Stressed to realize how Blessed they really are”

Here’s some food for thought:

I interviewed a singer / songwriter (guitarist) named Mark Goffeney in 2009. Mark was born with no arms and despite that disadvantage still went on to become a self-sufficient, working performer, playing his guitar (and bass when he wants to switch up) with his feet.

Later the same month I spoke with a gentleman named Patrick Henry Hughes who was born without eyes, and unable to fully move his legs and arms, and despite this Patrick Henry Hughes has shared the stage with Lonestar, performed at the Grand Ole’ Opry, become a promitment member of the Louieville Marching Band with the assistance of his father, appeared on various national television programs, wrote a book about his unique experiences, and finished in the top of most of his classes in University.

Last year I spoke / presented at a popular Optimyz Live conference in Halifax, and I took in a presentation by a motivational speaker Steve Foran who talked about the importance of being grateful for all of that you are blessed with. He talked about how he and his son determined that his son was among the top half of earners in the world simply by working at a fast food restaurant and earning minimum wage, and how many people in various parts of the world would love to be in that great position, and how his son received that blessing simply by being lucky enough to be born in a certain part of the world.

I could go on and on but the point here is this, we are all blessed in some way, and if we could all count our blessings more often, and perhaps be just a little more grateful for our blessings each day, from the time we get out of bed until the time we get back into bed that same day, odds are that customer service overall would improve dramatically – just by that one action alone.

And this includes myself.

And so my suggestion would be this – each day when you get up in the morning, list just 3 things you are truly grateful for (perhaps write them down or place them somewhere) and do the same when you go to bed each night.

If you do this for 21 days it will become a habit, and again, it is my belief that the result could be staggering – but again, that is only if we take action.

Until then, here’s to your greater success.

Details on our new book at http://www.tisti.ca

Cpoirier
http://www.gimmiemyketchup.com
http://www.coreypoirier.com

3 comments

  1. Nancy M. Doucette · January 9, 2011

    I’ve been really stressed of late & as I was reading this I realized I have no where near to be stressed about that some others have & that it doesn’t take away from my stress so it won’t hurt for me to try this for 21 days or at least as long as I can
    So here goes gonna list 3 things tonight I am blessed with and start a small notebook just for this
    Nancy

    • gimmemyketchup · January 9, 2011

      Sounds great Nancy, Good luck with your list, and you are already ahead of the game just by taking action!!

  2. Nancy M. Doucette · January 9, 2011

    Thanks Corey, as you know it’s not often that a post will really stick with me, this one did – thanks for posting it –

Leave a Reply

