SMILE, YOU’RE SERVING WITH PASSION

If you want to serve with passion, you need passion in your life – starting point? Determine what it is that you would do for free, or what you would do if you had all the money you ever needed. Chances are that is one of (if not your key) passion areas. Start spending more time on that passion (even if it’s alongside your central job) and that passion will eventually spill over into everything you do.

For example, I was working away at a sales career that I did enjoy in 2002. I loved my work but my life didn’t feel fully fulfilled. I had an opportunity to bring a stage-play to life and jumped at it. That was a passion for me (writing and creating). That then led to an opportunity to perform stand-up comedy (writing and creating) which quickly became another passion area.

Eventually, my training and stand-up comedy lives merged and I discovered this thing called “Professional Speaking”

8 years later, and a 10 year sales career behind me, and I’m spending each and every day living a life of passion (speaking to and working with clients to help their staff become more inspired, entertained, educated and motivated to work with more purpose and significance).

This wouldn’t have started if I wouldn’t have eventually chosen to act on my passion by launching the stag-play outside of my traditional career.

So, what am I suggesting you do, if you want to add more passion to your life so that you serve your customers (and everyone else for that matter) with more passion?

I simply saying that if it’s not your primary career that drives your passion, find the thing that does, bring more of it into your life, and it can’t help but eventually spill over into everything you do, and ultimately, everyone you serve will feel that they were served with passion.

Until then, you can start by smiling more than you frown each day. It takes more work to frown and it’s harder to serve with passion when you’re frowning, so why not take it easy and walk around with a smile on your face – leave the real work until later.

cpoirier
http://www.gimmiemyketchup.com
http://www.coreypoirier.com

One comment

  1. Nancy · January 16, 2011

    I know exactly what you are talking about here – I had a job I loved with all my heart and soul – due to an injury directly connected to that job I could no longer do it – I had nothing in my life to fill that void – it took me close to 5 years to find a hobby/interest that has gave me some purpose
    Unfortunately nothing has come close to that passion I had for my work
    I know that wasn’t about money though being paid allowed me to raise my son and support me which was a bonus
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

