BUT WE’RE NOT IN THE SERVICE BUSINESS

I was recently at a convenience store and the business had a special on that allowed for a reduced price on an item if you purchased two of the item.

They only had one left and just for fun (mostly to see how they would respond) I asked if I still received the special since the promotion was still on (and in this case, they didn’t have the inventory to provide the two I did want).

It was more just a curiousity, and not as much about me caring that much about the special price.

In response, they said, “No. It’s only a bonus if you get it for that price, but if we only have one, so it’s full price for the one.”

I decided to take it further and said, but I’m ready to buy the two and you don’t have them. At Superstore, or a place like that I’d still get the reduced price on the one item.

To which they replied, “It doesn’t work that way here. We’re not in the CUSTOMER SERVICE business, we’re in the convenience business.”

To which I reply, Famous last words.

COREY-OUT

2 comments

  1. Jenna Anderson Friesen · September 18, 2011

    That is so ridiculous!
    It’s cool that you tested to see what they would say. I like that experiment. Thanks for sharing.
    That’s a scenario that employers definitely want to avoid at all costs …

  2. ROMULO BURGOS · May 10, 2013

    THAT S BAD COSTUMER SERVICE…WE ALL IN THE COSTUMER SERVICE IF WE HAVE BUSINESS …I CONSIDER UNPOLITE TO REFUSE A PURCHACE BCOZ SOMEONE IS 5 CENTS SHORT TOO,I HAVE SEEN THAT VERY FRECUENT TOO.

Leave a Reply

