THE PIZZA OF INDIFFERENCE

So I drop by one of my favorite pizza shops (which shall remain un-named but perhaps just for the time being) to find “no one” working behind the counter.

I wait a few minutes, and then ring the bell (just in case the person is out back) but no one answers. I wait for a few more minutes before someone comes over and say’s “I saw the guy walk away about 15 minutes ago”

Now, out of principle I decide to wait. More people join me in waiting.

Finally the employee shows up, and I say, “Wow, we’ve been waiting 15 minutes at least.” His reply, “What kind of pizza do you want?”

I repeat, “You know we’ve been waiting here for 15 minutes and…” He cuts me off say’s “I’m leaving the company next week so I’m on my two weeks notice…do you want some pizza or not?”

So I continue, “So because you’re leaving, your current employer is entitled to only half an employee…are they paying you half your wages? Imagine if in two years you apply for a company and I’m the CEO of that company…wow, wouldn’t that be interesting?”

At this point he won’t look me in the eyes, and finally I order my slice of pizza (which thankfully is right in front of me so I can verify no spitting has occured).

The others in the line smile widely in my direction, I’m guessing because I didn’t let him off. Now, I know confronting someone like that isn’t always wise but I guess when you get tired of employees having indifference to their customers AND the people paying their bills, every now and then you want to try to make them consider their actions.

I have also sent word into the employer of the pizza shop as I would want to know about this as a business owner, if even to try and prevent it with future employees.

Oh, in case you’re wondering, the pizza still tasted as good as always.

And so, after sharing this story, I’d like to ask you an important question: How do act when the leader is not around OR if you are the leader, do you know how your employees are acting when you’re not around?

Something to consider isn’t it?

Until Then, Yours in Success, Corey Poirier

To learn more or book Corey for your next event, please visit www.coreypoirier.com or contact us at bookings@coreypoirier.com

Leave a Reply

